Shifting Gears

So I moved to Canada.

We moved to Toronto last month because of my husband’s job and that, on top of having a baby in April, is part of the reason why this blog was hibernating until two days ago. Now that we have mostly settled into our new home and my 3-month-old is passed out on the floor, I finally have the time, energy, and head space to tackle the “What now?” question.

In January, I proudly announced my plan to start a mystery party business. I still hope to build Merry Mystery Playmakers someday, but the tricky thing about moving to Canada is that I can’t work. Not for now anyway. This means that the business side of this blog and this teaching artist is temporarily on hold.

But I’m not going to let that stop me. Now that I’ve gotten over the initial “Ahhhhh!!!!” stage, I am looking at this chapter in my life as a wonderful opportunity to experiment. Professional development, here I come! Toronto is a thriving center of arts and culture. There are museums to explore, shows to see, arts organizations to join, and school programs that just might need the creative spicing up that only a teaching artist can bring.

Volunteering is a beautiful thing and a bonus is that it removes a lot of pressure and anxiety. If I’m not being paid, I feel a little more free to test some projects that aren’t necessarily tried and true. For someone who has a real problem with failing and letting people down, this might be just what I need to really develop my art making–new styles of mystery games, trying new art forms, making new connections, finally learning to play my ukulele and maybe even the piano that we inherited with our new house. I won’t allow my new working conditions to limit me. I choose to let them liberate me.

Furthermore, I’m not going to run out of things to write about here. For starters, I am going to seize this chance to finally dig into the incredible library of performing arts education books that now fill our new home office bookshelves. I’m embarrassed to admit that I have barely dented the collection of books that my dear college professor passed down to me before she died. Well, they won’t be gathering dust anymore.

Here’s my new phase of life resolution; I am going to read through my fountain of yet untapped resources. I am going to reflect on these books in writing, on this blog. I’m going to find ways to play with what I learn.

And there you have it. My new country, new mom, new life, new teaching artist resolution. You can hold me to it. Stay tuned.

6 thoughts on “Shifting Gears

  1. Excellent, Justine! Toronto does have amazing resources…I was there showing at Toronto Fashion Week and as I ran out of time to see what I wanted to, I decided I just have to take a trip up there. Hope to see you soon, Up North.

  2. Hey. Fantastic. I can work (as I made them get me a work visa), but haven’t found the right spot for my creative juices to flow yet. It’s been almost 3 years! I know that good things come to those who wait, and plan, and wait, and plan….but I’m getting ansty. Good for you. I love Toronto. You will thrive as you dive into the culture. Love, Debra

Leave a Reply

